Whickers world pitch 1 david chang

Following the success of the Whicker's World Foundation Pitch at Sheffield Doc/Fest 2016, the Film & TV Funding Award is now open for applications with £80,000 available for a filmmaker under 35 with the best authored documentary idea. £15,000 will also be awarded to the runner-up. The Sage Award will also be announced at the Doc/Fest Awards Ceremony, with a prize of £5,000 to an applicant aged 50 plus and £2,000 to a runner-up.


The Funding Awards

The Film & TV Award

The Film & TV award is the primary focus of Whicker's World Foundation, with £80,000 awarded each year to a new director with the most promising pitch for an authored documentary which fulfils the core criteria of the foundation, with £15,000 also awarded to a runner-up.

The money will be paid in instalments to the director’s film company, enabling a project which deserves to be realised to reach as wide an audience as possible. Applicants must be aged 35 and under with an exec on board their project, and be available to pitch at Sheffield Doc/Fest 2017 taking place 9-14 June.

Applications must include:
  • A taster up to six minutes long;
  • Offer a full treatment for a 50 minute film including style and tehcnology plan;
  • A budget proposal;
  • Evidence of company viability.
Deadline: 31 January 2017

The deadline has been extended until 14 February 2017

The Sage Award

‘Retirement’ was not a word in Alan’s vocabulary.  He was 83 when he wrote and presented Whicker’s War, a much acclaimed account of his army experiences in Italy for Channel 4. He made his last series for BBC Two, Journey of a Lifetime, in his late eighties. The Sage award will recognise a TV or audio professional who has come to air with an authored story for the first time, a prize of £5,000 and runner-up of £1,000 will be awarded annually to an applicant aged 50 plus. The winner will be announced at Sheffield Doc/Fest Awards Ceremony on 13 June 2017.


Applications must include:

  • A completed audio or visual project;
  • A first time project of no more than 10 minutes;
  • Work that has been published and/or broadcast between 14 February 2016 and 31 January 2017;
  • English language, with English narration and subtitles if necessary.

Deadline: 31 January 2017

The deadline has been extended until 26 March 2017


Applications for all of the awards must demonstrate:

  • an authored story which demonstrates a passion for the subject whilst retaining fair-mindedness and a real sense of independence;
  • engagement with local contributors, offering unique access to engaging characted in unusual or inaccessible locations, and an intimacy that does not overshadow the subject;
  • curiosity and the spirit of inquisitiveness that leaves viewers wanting more, wth a storyteller that understands how wit can illumincate the toughest or most nuanced real life drama;
  • original use of technology breaking new ground and/or using old ground to reinvent style.

Click here to find out more and apply. More information on how to fill in the application forms can be found here.